1947 - 1974


1951 - 1952








Football        Back To Top

1951 Conference Champions:  Danube Hawks

     In the first year of Eight Man Football, the 1951 Danube Hawks went undefeated for the season with a 6-0 record and stretched their winning streak to 21 games.  Danube's winning streak began on the season finale of 1948 with a 19-13 win over Bird Island.  In 1949 the Hawks won six games and tied one (Stewart 12-12), and in 1950 they went 7-0.  The 1951 Hawks led the conference in scoring with a 44.4 scoring average offense and gave up 8.5 points per game on defense.  Runner-up Hector averaged 36.1 points on offense and gave up 9.1 points per game on defense.  Danube beat Hector, 13-12, in a come from behind mid-season game.   Danube was led by All-State halfback, Marvin Standfuss.  The 5’11, 190 pound fullback was legendary for hard hitting and aggressive play.  Senior quarterback, Rod Black, and halfback, Shorty Schroeder were other All-Conference backs on the team.  Outstanding linemen on the team were sophomores, Larry Good and Red Reetz, and seniors Orrel Steinkamp, and John Bratsch.    In the era of six and eight man football, the 1951 Danube Hawks were said to be best team of that time.  In 1950 and 1951, they were held under 20 points only twice. Both times were against Hector in hard fought 15-12 and 13-12 wins.    In an unusual situation, Danube Fullback, Marvin Standfuss was left off of the all conference list, but made the All State team.  Standfuss scored 15 touchdowns and 10 extra points in his senior year.  Conference coaches felt that Standfuss was “over aggressive” and did not meet the standards of an All Conference player.  Some of the coaches even accused Danube Coach, R.M. Brenckman, of teaching “dirty” football.  Danube officials vehemently denied any accusations against Brenckman and Standfuss.  Danube Superintendant, K.B. Knutston,    stated that Brenckman was a model teacher and coach, and Standfuss never was a discipline problem in school.

1951 212 Final Standings
Buffalo Lake
Bird Island
Sacred Heart
Leading Scorers
Jim Radloff, Hector
Marv Standfuss, Danube
James Dean, Hector
Jim Schafer, Buffalo Lake
Jerry Omholt, Sacred Heart
Harold Witte, Hector
Richard Schroeder, Danube
Bruce Pagel, Bird Island
Allan Olson, Renville
1951 All-Conference Team
Malcom Broderius, Hector
Ted Sprieter, Hector
Ralph Hagberg, Buffalo Lake
Duane Koelin, Buffalo Lake
Harvey Kienholz, Bird Island
Bruce Sherwood, Bird Island
Larry Good Danube
James Radloff, Hector
James Schafer, Buffalo Lake
Roger Schroeder, Danube
Jerry Omholt, Sacred Heart

Honorable Mention
Orland Witte, Brownton
Alfred Wiehr, Buffalo Lake
Dale Dean, Hector
Bruce Pagel, Bird Island
Rod Black, Danube
Orrel Steinkamp, Danube
John Bratsch, Danube
Marvin Standfuss, Danube
Delbourne Yeschick, Renville
Sam Fischer, Sacred Heart
John Skalbeck, Sacred Heart
Byron Davidson, Sacred Heart


Basketball        Back To Top

1952 Conference Basketball Champions:  Buffalo Lake Bison

Front Row:  Lea Doberstein, Roger Lavea, Ralph Hagberg, Vern Fischer, Tom Sorenson. 

Back Row:  Wayne Baumgard, Manager, Marv Mischke, Coach, Jim Schafer, Duane Koelb, Craig Hartberg, Roger Mueller, Doug Peterson, Manager                  

                                          The Buffalo Lake Bison won the 1952 212 Conference Championship with a 11-1  record.  Their only loss came on their first game of the year to Bird Island. From that point on, the Bison won 18 straight games to capture the crown.  Buffalo Lake would go on to win 27 straight games on their home floor.  Since taking over the Head Basketball duties in 1949, legendary coach,          Marv Mischke, was winning 72% of his games after the 1952 season.  The Bison were runners-up to Danube in 1951.   Senior, Ralph Hagberg, led the Bison in scoring with 353 points and 19.7 average. Junior guard, Vern Fischer, was the second leading scorer on the team and served as the play maker of the team.  Throughout the season Buffalo Lake proved to be one of the best teams in the entire area with a great team balance.    In District 12 Tournament play, the Bison beat Olivia in the quarter final round.  In the semi final round, Buffalo Lake was upset by their arch rivals, Hector.  Hector lost to Glencoe in the finals of the district.  Hector and Buffalo Lake's heated games in basketball would go on to be some of the classic games in the history of the 212 Conference.  During a regular season overtime Buffalo Lake win, the referees sent both teams to the locker room for a “cooling off” period.  During the 1952 District meeting it was decided that Hutchinson and Glencoe could not play in any games in their “home”gymnasiums during district tournament play.  New gyms at Olivia, Danube and Renville were completed and ready for larger crowds and the district committee decided that games should be held at a neutral site.  Both Hutchinson and Glencoe were upset with the decision and decided not to hold any tournament games.


Final 1952 Basketball Standings
Buffalo Lake
Bird Island
Sacred Heart

Leading Scorers
Ralph Hagberg, Buffalo Lake      353
Bruce Pagel, Bird Island              277
Larry Good, Danube                    252
Bob Robinson, Bird Island          245
Orel Steinkamp, Danube            234
Jim Radloff, Hector                    218
Harold Witte, Hector                 216
Jerry Omholt, Sacred Heart       198
James Dean, Hector                  181
Vern Fischer, Buffalo Lake        180
Dick Schroeder, Danube            180
Don Padrnos, Brownton            168
Rod Black, Danube                    162     








1952 All Conference Team
Hagberg, Buffalo Lake
Fischer, Buffalo Lake

Omholt, Sacred Heart
Pagel Bird Island
Witte, Hector
Good, Danube
Steinkamp, Danube

Honorable Mention
Sorenson, Buffalo Lake
Schroeder, Danube
6’2 Sr.
6’1 Jr.
6’1 Sr.
6’2 Sr.
6’3 Sr.
6’3 So.
6’0 Sr.


Track        Back To Top

1952 212 Conference Track Champions:  Bird Island Panthers

    The Bird Panthers won the first annual 212 Conference Track Meet at the Renville County Fair Grounds on May 15th. The Panthers won the championship by scoring 46 points in the Five Team meet.  Buffalo Lake was runner up with 20 points, Hector placed 3rd with 19 points, Danube 4th with 15 points and Brownton 5th with 6 points.  Stewart, Renville and Sacred Heart did not field teams in the first meet.   BIHS also won the 880 Yard Relay to claim both of the trophies that were awarded in the first meet.  The relay team was made up of sprint champion Don Leindecker as the anchor, Bob Robinson as lead runner and Bruce Pagel and Roger Wolf as the 2nd and 3rd runners. They also won the District 12 880 Yard Relay Championship.    Junior Bruce Pagel led the team in scoring as he tied for first in the High Jump, won the 180 Yard Low Hurdles, placed second in the High Hurdles and Pole Vault.  Sophomore Bob Robinson won the Pole Vault and High Hurdles, and placed 3rd in the Long Jump.           Don Leindecker won the 100 and 220 yard dashes.  Roger Wolff placed second in the Discus, and placed third in the Shot Put.  Arnie Valentine placed 3rd in the 880 Yard Run.


Baseball        Back To Top

1952 Conference Baseball Champions:  Bird Island Panthers

The Bird Island Panthers won the conference Baseball Championship.  Results were not found.