1947 - 1974


1947 - 1948






Football        Back To Top

1947 Conference Champions: Hector Bulldogs

First Row: Hardell Holm, Neil Person, Don Silker, Bill Enright, Curt Melberg, Ervin Decknadel, Neil Silker. Row Two: Coach Emil Wilken, Jim Person, Newton Anderson, Howard Beske, Lee Person, Bob Johnson, Lowell Anderson, Darrell DeLong, Gene McDonald, Don Zackrison, Curt Washechek.
Third Row: Bill Carlson, Les Anderson, Clayton Torbert, Don Hagquist, Jim Gouras, Harold Witte, Ed Peterson, Bob Fredrickson, Howard Olson, Malcolm Broderius, Roger Hanson, Don Niles, Curt Sampson.

  The Hector Bulldogs won the 1947 212 Conference Football Championship.  It was the first season of the newly formed 212 Conference.  The football conference played 6 man football from 1947 through 1950.  The Bulldogs finished the season with a 7-0 record and a 9 game winning streak.

     Their toughest games of the season were a 26-24 win over Buffalo Lake, and 28-14 win over Bird Island.  In the win over arch rival Buffalo Lake, two of the best halfbacks in the state, Theo Mueller of Buffalo Lake and Billy Enright of Hector, matched up in an all-time classic game.  The game was played before the biggest crowd ever seen at the Hector athletic field.  The lead changed hands several times throughout the contest.  In the middle of the 4th quarter, Mueller scored on a 40 yard run to give Buffalo Lake the lead.  The kick was blocked to make the score 24-18 in favor of the Bison.  With 2 minutes remaining in the game, Billy Enright threw a 20 yard touchdown pass to Neil Person for a touchdown to tie the game.  Bill then drop kicked the extra point to give Hector the win 26-24.

     The 1947 Bulldogs scored a total of 315 points for a 45 per game average.  They gave up 81 points for a 11.6 per game average.  Halfback, Bill Enright scored 22 touchdowns on the season and was chosen to the All-State Football team.  Theo Mueller scored 17 touchdowns on the season.  Mueller missed one game due to a knee injury.

The starting line-up for the 1947 Hector Bulldogs were;  Ends Neil Silker and Ervin Decknadel, Center Don Silker, Halfbacks Bill Enright and Curt Melberg and Quarterback Hardell Holm.

Conference Standings 1947 All Conference
Hector 7-0-0 1st Team:
Buffalo Lake 6-1-0 End-Bill Sorenson, Buffalo Lake
Brownton 6-1-0 End-Vic Eastman, Bird Isalnd
Bird Island 5-3-0 Center-Don Silker, Hector
Renville 5-3-0 Back-Bill Enright, Hector
Stewart 2-4-0 Theo Mueller, Buffalo Lake
Danube 2-6-0 Manford Herzig, Renville
Sacred Heart 0-8-0
  2nd Team:
Leading Scorers End-Lenny Lonrich, Brownton
Billy Enright, Hector 22 TD's End-Ernest Schoepke, Sacerd Heart
Theo Mueller, Buffalo Lake 17 Center-Earl Habber, Renville
Bruce Hakes, Brownton 11 Back-Bruce Hakes, Brownton
Vic Eastman, Bird Island 9 Back-Alden Wickstrom, Sacred Heart
Curt Melberg, Hector 8 Back-Curt Melberg, Hector
Merle Walters, Buffalo Lake 8  
Wayne Sanken, Brownton 7 Honorable Mention:
Manny Herzig, Renville 7 Back-Verl Ehlert Stewart
Duane Koelin, Stewart 6 End-Lauren Hang, Danube
Lyle Schatz, Brownton 6 Center- Bob Schafer, Buffalo Lake
Verl Ehlert, Stewart 5 Center-Neil Silker, Hector
Back-LeRoy Polzine, Brownton
Back Merle Walters, Buffalo Lake
Back-Don Groen, Renville
Back-Wayne Sanken, Brownton
Back Keith Eastman, Bird Island
Back-Cyril Hatten, Stewart

Basketball        Back To Top

1948 Conference Champions: Buffalo Lake Bison

                                                                                     Front Row:Delos Stark, Merele Walter, Bill Sorenson, Bob Schafer, Theo Mueller
                                                                                     Second Row: Coach Leo Thorson, Gerald Ulrich, Dick Walter, Allen Kapping, Randy Fischer, Ron Hofstad

     The Buffalo Lake Bison won the 212 Conference Championship in the 1948 season.  They finished the season with a 18-3 record.  In district play they beat Silver Lake 57-52 and beat Norwood 45-43 in the quarter finals, then lost to Hutchinson 40-28 in the semi-finals.  Hutchinson beat Brownton, 44-39, in the final game of the district tournament.  Leading scorers for the Bison were; Fischer with 161, Walters with 151, Sorenson with 139 and Mueller with 132.

1948 Standing

Buffalo Lake
Bird Island
Sacred Heart
Leading Scorers
Bill Enright, Hector
Keith Eastman, Bird Island
Wayne Sanken, Brownton
Verl Ehlert, Stewart
Ernest Schoepke, Sacred Heart
Hardel Holm, Hector
Randy Fischer, Buffalo Lake
Odel Bjerkset, Sacred Heart
Merle Walters, Buffalo Lake
Bill Sorenson, Buffalo Lake
Theo Mueller, Buffalo Lake
253 Points